Postgraduate and professional

Group of postgraduate studentsLevel 7 qualifications include:

  • Masters degrees such as MA, MSc, MBA
  • Postgraduate Certificates and Diplomas, such as the Postgraduate Certificate of Education (PGCE).

Level 8 qualifications include:

  • Doctor of Philosophy, DPhil or PhD

Postgraduate qualifications:

  • usually require a good first degree, though a degree and extensive work experience may be an accepted equivalent
  • may be vocational, for example PGCE for teaching
  • or gained through research
  • or involve doing a taught course
  • vary in length from one to three years full-time or offered on a part-time basis.

Professional Qualifications:

To become a chartered member of many professional bodies such as RICS (Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors), ICE ( Institution of Civil Engineering) you need an accredited degree, relevant work experience and further training. 

Some jobs are protected in law and you can only do the work if you are a member of the relevant professional body.

There are plans for masters degrees to be offered as part of degree apprenticeships, for example in allied health professional careers.

Look on GOV.UK for what different qualification levels mean.


Page updated July 2020


Our careers advisers are based at:

Head Office
Huddersfield Careers Centre
24 High Street

T: 01484 242000 - general enquiries

T: 01484 213856 - Chat service, speak to a careers adviser